Is Personal Injury Protection Required in Kentucky?
If you get involved in a car accident in Kentucky, you will need to navigate the personal injury protection (PIP) insurance system. Kentucky uses a no-fault rule to determine who pays for car accidents. Under this system, all drivers seek benefits from their own car insurance companies, regardless of who is at fault. For this reason, every insurance policy in Kentucky must include at least $10,000 in personal injury protection insurance.
What Is Personal Injury Protection?
Personal injury protection is a type of first-party car insurance, meaning it pays for damages suffered by the policyholder. This is in contrast to liability insurance, which pays for the losses of a third party. In no-fault insurance states, PIP insurance is required so that all drivers can seek reimbursement from their own insurance providers whether or not they were at fault. A policyholder does not have to prove that someone else is at fault to be eligible for PIP coverage in Kentucky.
Personal injury protection insurance will pay for the costs of undergoing medical treatment after a car accident, up to the maximum amount listed on the policy. This can include doctor’s appointments, treatments, surgeries, medications and other required medical care. If you have to miss work because of your injuries, PIP can also be used to reimburse a portion of your lost wages. The lost wage reimbursement limit in Kentucky is $200 a week or 85 percent of your normal weekly wage if you earn less than $200 a week.
Do Drivers in Kentucky Have to Carry Personal Injury Protection Insurance?
Yes, all drivers must purchase PIP insurance in Kentucky. Under Kentucky’s insurance laws, all motor vehicle operators must carry a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury liability insurance, as well as $25,000 in property damage liability insurance. This type of coverage can pay for someone else’s medical bills and vehicle repairs after an accident, in some cases.
Additionally, due to the no-fault system, Kentucky requires all drivers to have personal injury protection insurance. The minimum required amount of PIP coverage in Kentucky is $10,000. It is possible to purchase a higher amount if a car insurance company offers more than this. Purchasing a higher limit can be a good idea if you wish for greater protection in an accident, as it will mean fewer out-of-pocket expenses associated with a crash.
Note that PIP insurance is not mandatory for motorcyclists in Kentucky. Motorcyclists can opt out of PIP coverage when purchasing a policy, if desired. After a motorcycle accident, the motorcyclist can file a claim against the at-fault driver instead of obtaining benefits from his or her own policy. A motorcyclist may wish to purchase PIP insurance to ensure coverage after an at-fault accident, however.
How Does PIP Insurance Work After a Car Accident?
If you get injured in a car accident in Kentucky, you will file a claim first with your own car insurance provider, even if the other driver caused the crash. You must use your own insurance policy up to the limits of your personal injury protection coverage before you seek benefits from the other driver’s insurer. You can only receive PIP coverage if your medical expenses total at least $1,000 or you suffered a serious injury, such as a broken bone.
If the costs of your medical care are above the limits of your PIP insurance, the at-fault driver’s liability insurance coverage kicks in to cover the remaining balance. To qualify for third-party coverage, you must prove that the policyholder is at fault. If you are to blame for the crash, your injuries and losses will only be paid for by your own personal injury protection insurance. For more information about PIP insurance in Kentucky, contact a car accident attorney in Louisville.